To The Teacher I Never Liked

In my 17 years of dance, I have worked with a number of teachers whom I was not fond of. Even though they were not my favorite people, I still had to work with them and respect them. This was not always easy as it would be hard at times for me to give my best effort in a class that I was unhappy in.

There are several reasons why I did not like certain teachers, but if I had the chance to go back and say how I really felt, this is what I would say to them…

Dear Teacher whom I was not fond of,

For whatever the reason was at the time, you were not a favorite of mine. I would say that for the majority of the time growing up, when I did not like you it was because I felt that you did not like me. There were always favorites in your class and I was not one of them. Even though I tried to be a good student, you still choose to pick on me. What I would like to know is why? Why was I not a favorite and why did you have to treat me worse because I wasn’t? Maybe this was all in my head or maybe it wasn’t, but either way I know there were favorites because I was not the only one who noticed. Anyway, I would like to say that if at any time I did slack off in your class just because I did not like you, I am deeply sorry. Maybe that was the reason you didn’t like me. I want you to know that even though I did not like you, I do still have you to thank for making me the dancer I am today. You probably taught me things even when I wasn’t aware off it. For that, I want to say thank you and I am sorry if you did not like me and I am sorry that I did not like you.

Sincerely,

A past student


Leave a comment